Milwaukee Mandatory Motor Vehicle Liability Insurance Lawyers

Car insurance law in Wisconsin is changing. As of June 1, 2010, every motorist driving on any Wisconsin highway must carry motor vehicle liability insurance, and proof of coverage. If you are stopped by law enforcement and cannot produce valid proof, you may be liable for fines ranging from $10 to more than $500, depending on the seriousness of the violation, and applicable local ordinances.

We are here to provide legal help concerning mandatory car accident insurance law for you when you need it.

To find out more about the new Wisconsin mandatory car insurance law, call the law offices of Courtney & Molter in Milwaukee at 414-224-6070

The lawyers at our firm provide skilled traffic violations defense as well as personal injury and wrongful death claims. Contact us today for a free initial consultation.

The Impact of Recent Mandatory Car Accident Insurance Law Changes

Wisconsin State Statue 344.62 requires that you carry at least 50/100/15 coverage:

  • $50,000 to cover bodily injury or death to one other person
  • $100,000 to cover bodily injury or death to two or more people
  • $15,000 to cover property damage to somebody else’s car or property

You must also carry uninsured motorist and underinsured motorist coverage, which protects you and your family in the event you are injured in a hit-and-run accident or by an uninsured or underinsured motorist. You must carry at least $100,000/$300,000 for bodily injury.

The attorneys at our firm strongly recommend carrying more than the minimum. Here is a common scenario. You are involved in a catastrophic car accident. The motorist who hit you carries minimal bodily injury liability coverage of $100,000 for one person or $300,000 for two persons or more. Medical expenses alone can easily exceed the minimum. Who would pay for the additional medical bills, lost wages and pain and suffering? If you lose a loved one, your losses are even higher.

If you carry additional uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, you can file a claim against your own insurance policy, up to your policy limits.

An *AV-Rated Law Firm,

Here for You in Your Time of Need

Milwaukee Area: 414-224-6070
Call us if you have questions about the recent changes in mandatory car accident insurance law. We are happy to advise you of your rights after a car accident and help you figure out what to do if you have been cited for a traffic violation. Call our southeast Wisconsin law offices directly, or contact us online. Phones are answered 24-hours-a-day. If we can’t speak to you right away, don’t worry — we will return your call or e-mail soon.

*CV, BV and AV are registered certification marks of Reed Elsevier Properties Inc., used in accordance with the Martindale-Hubbell certification procedures, standards and policies. Martindale-Hubbell is the facilitator of a peer review rating process. Ratings reflect the confidential opinions of members of the Bar and the Judiciary. Martindale-Hubbell Ratings fall into two categories – legal ability and general ethical standards.